Cinemalaya 2011

It’s the Cinemalaya season once again, and numerous must-watch films are up for this year. The greatest thing is that the continuous support of the people to these indie films are still there (talk about the sold out tickets of most of the films).

After the preliminary showing of all the featured films (which started July 16), the winners of this year’s competition has been unveiled. Some of the films which bagged most of the awards from their respective categories are Ang Babae sa Septic Tank, Niño, Walang Katapusang Kwarto, Busong and Bisperas. For the complete list of winners of Cinemalaya 2011, you can click here.

Screenings of selected Cinemalaya films are still being held in Greenbelt and in UP Film Institute. If you have time, I suggest you go there and watch some of the festival’s featured films. Just think about this: It’s not everyday we get to see deep, substantial, and socially aware films such as these. To entice you more, here are some teasers of Cinemalaya featured films.

Side note: I hated this, but the only film I was able to watch here is Ang Sayaw ng Dalawang Kaliwang Paa, which is good by the way. I also love actors’ performance on this film.

Side note (again): I saw the taping of Amok while I am on my way going to work. When I passed by, I thought there was a real accident that happened (because of countless spectators / usisero). Turned out, there’s a camera present at the scene.

There you go! Congratulations to Cinemalaya organizing commitee for another successful year of holding this festival. More power, and I am really looking forward for next year’s featured film!

2 comments

Leave a comment