Love of Siam

Photo Grabbed from IMdb

One film down from my Thai movies wish list! Yey!

I enjoyed watching The Love of Siam – Enjoyed in the sense that it never got me bored even for a single scene. Sounds very ordinary? Not until you find out that this movie runs for almost 3 hours. Yes, 3 hours.

Most comments I encountered while researching the plot of the film is about homosexuality. Actually, even the trailer got me that notion on what to expect with the film. And then, all changed after watching the movie. It’s not really all about homosexuality. The film is about love, different forms of it, the hope it provides, and how it affects one’s life.

Yes, it might sound so cheesy, but let’s just say I am ready to go on a bet to prove everyone that this movie can really touch your heart. If you would think about it, the situations shown on the film are quite normal – nothing special in other words. However, how these normal situations and stories of each character are sewn together translates to something phenomenal. Phenomenal in the sense that it will let you feel for the characters, and left you reflecting on your life.

As I am watching the film, I feel very helpless in stopping my tears to fall down (Yuck, I know). I just can’t help myself feeling the emotions, frustrations and the love given and lost by the characters. It was one of the best movies I have ever seen. Proof? Well, I don’t really enjoy films that has subtitles, plus a film that is very long. I even have this philosophy that long movies don’t necessarily translate to a good film; it is how the story is executed. And, here I am, found myself glued to my laptop watching The Love of Siam.

Alright. For the record, I obviously loved the movie – I am even making it one of the best I have ever watched. It is definitely something worth the 3-hours of watching. But please don’t watch this film if you are looking for a feel-good movie, because plainly it is not. This movie is best to watch if you want to have an emo moment, or you just want to watch a good heart-warming film.

Leave a Reply

