The newly designed Philippine Peso bills

Last night was a lame night for me. No hang-outs, just going-straight-home. I guess I am quite convinced that going home late will not give me a more comfortable travel back home  – every night is a disaster during Christmas season.

Since I came home early, I was able to catch the evening news. I was surprised that the Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas (Central Bank of the Philippines) launched new designs of Philippine Peso bills. What surprised me more is that they will circulate the 20-Peso bill the next day (which is today).

Here’s how the bills will look like. These are the newly designed 20, 50, 100, 200, 500, and 1000 Philippine Peso bills.

New bills featuring younger photos of Philippine heroes and historical icons

I am not sure if I am the only who has this feeling that there is a bill somewhere else which looks like (or has the same theme) the newly designed bill. I am not saying this is a rip-off or anything, I just feel there is, or maybe most bills around the world are getting the “modern look” already that’s why all bills from different countries look the same.

Generally, it looks nice. At least the bills are getting a fresher look. I hope this will also serve as a start for a better governance that every Filipino is longing for.

Leave a Reply

