Pot-Pot Potipot Island

Potipot Island

Last week, we had our company Christmas outing. Yes, you read it right. Our company does the going-to-the-beach-thing every December, and not during March or April. Though it’s definitely too late for summer, we always make a way to enjoy the year with a trip to a beach. This time, our destination is Potipot Island in the province of Zambales, Philippines.

I must say that this is the most challenging outing I’ve been through so far. Why? Because I traveled going there alone due to a conflict on my schedule. The trip is long but easy; All I did was to ride a bus going to the town of Sta. Cruz, Zambales, and asked the driver to drop me off at Trinidad Resort (We did not stayed there, we stayed at the nearby resort Alta Nina which is a lot cheaper).

Upon arriving at the resort, I did not saw any trace of white sand. In fact, the sand is brownish, almost black. However, not far from the island we are staying is a beautiful island called Potipot. You ask how far from the resort that island is? It’s only a 10-minute boat ride.

The island is small but marvelous. It’s all nature and the water is very calm and clear. We haven’t even noticed how many times we said “Ang ganda-ganda!” (It’s so beautiful!) by the time we reached the island. We took some photos, shared some stories under the trees, played games and strolled around the island. We were able to go around the island in less than an hour, maybe even less than 30 minutes.

We spend an entire day in Potipot Island. The afternoon came, and we did not notice the time. The next thing we know, our boat ride is already approaching our way to fetch us. Dang! Fine, it’s time to go back to the “mainland” and continue the fun there.

Overall, the experience was fun and worthwhile. During that time, I felt that this moment was such a great time to enjoy and distract myself from a lot of things bothering me at the moment. Hopefully, the fun never stops here this Christmas season. I am still waiting to have my Christmas gift from Santa. He knows about it, and I wish he will be generous enough to make me have it.

Let’s all enjoy the Christmas!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

