Back to the 90′s Playlist: Boy-band Edition

As I promised on my blog post last October 3, I am now travelling back to the early days of my childhood to give tribute to my favorite boy bands ever. Yes, I know, this post is quite self-serving, but I hope you can also find yourself feeling young again, and remembering the baggy pants, colored hair, and muscled-boy favorites of our time.

Arranged in no particular order, let’s go back to the 90’s and early 2000’s of our lives.

Hanson and Moffatts

Remember the battle between these two boy bands / brothers, fans? I purposely included them together in one item, because I love them both – sounds unreal? Yes, quite…but I really loved them both. Though I must say I am more of a Moffatts fan than a Hanson fan because I get to love most of the Moffatts’ songs compared to just a couple of Hansons’.

These are my favorite songs and videos of each group.

98°

We must admit that at the time of this band’s fame, they are the most buffed boy band among all the boy bands. Most of the boy bands during their time are skinny and too much of a pop icon (I hope you know what I mean, I’m poor at describing. Heehee.). Aside from the music, I sort of like them because they express a different package for the “boy band material” during their time. And yes, I am not talking green here.

Boyzone

Boyzone is just one of the best boy bands for re-making an old song. Though most of their songs are just renditions of classic songs, they pull each of their re-maked songs very well. Plus, of course, the fact that they are Irish makes their band unique out of all the other boy bands, which are mostly Americans.

5ive

With a new twist of having a gangstah-tough-not-your-ordinary-man members, 5ive gave birth to a new face of boy band. I am not a fan of their single “Slam Dunk da Funk” But became a fan because of their songs “Until the Time is through”, “Keep on Movin’” and “Got the Feeling”. I guess I love them more, than hate them.

BBmak

I don’t love this group as in L-O-V-E, but I like some of their songs (Get what I mean? Haha!). I never get tired of listening to their single “Back Here”, and the song which they are featured in – with Joey Fatone, Lance Bass, and Mandy Moore: “On the Line”.

LFO

Like 5ive, I am not a fan of LFO’s debut single “Summer Girls”. But I loved them more with their songs “Girl on TV,” and “I Don’t Want to Kiss You Goodnight”. These songs of theirs are just the perfect tunes for the reminiscing late 90’s and early 2000’s times. Even Rich Cronin is not with us anymore, his music with his LFO guys will always be remembered.

Backstreet Boys

As most of us want things to be, it is sweet to save best for last. This list will not be complete without the Backstreet Boys. They are the ultimate boy band of the 90’s and early 2000’s, and not to mention, the longest-standing boy band of their generation. Most of their co-boy bands were disbanded like hell, but BSB remained to be together (at least four of them remains together until now).

Without further wait, here’s the most mocked, impersonated, and voted to be the top gay video of BSB – I Want It That Way.

I hope you enjoyed the boy band trip. I’ll try to check girl bands next time. 🙂 Tusch!

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

