Bohol Over The Ocean, Bohol Over The Sea

More backlogs from 2013. Of course the good ones.

Philippines’ last quarter of 2013 has been a tough one. Aside from the super typhoon Yolanda (Haiyan, Int’l name), there was also a strong earthquake that hit certain parts of the Visayas. It’s already saddening to see some kababayans who were affected by these calamities, moreover to see some UNESCO heritage sites and historic churches crumbling down to debris. It’s just heartbreaking.

My friends and I went to Bohol for a short vacation last October. We went there a week before a 7.2 earthquake shook the province. We visited famous landmarks and beaches of which they are known of – Sadly, some of it now were severely damaged by the calamity. Of course I felt really thankful that the calamity didn’t happen during the time we were there. Honestly, I can’t imagine myself being in that kind of situation. However, I can’t help but feel heartbroken with all the destroyed wonders of the place. Bohol is such a beautiful place and people there are nice and warm too. I really hope things will get better there the soonest.

Here are some snaps taken during our trip to the wonderful province of Bohol.

Loboc River cruise. Since we went there during the lean months, we were the only guests of the boat. Sashalll!

Loboc River cruise. Since we went there during the lean months, we were the only guests of the boat. Sashalll!

More of Loboc River. These people are very good in entertaining tourists. I swear I had a good vibe during the whole trip because of this experience.

More of Loboc River. These people are very good in entertaining tourists. I swear I had a good vibe during the whole trip because of this experience.

Still in Loboc River. If there are singers, there should be dancers!

Still in Loboc River. If there are singers, there should be dancers!

The hanging bridge. Crossing this thing is a little tricky. But once you take a few steps, you'll get the hang of it.  At the other end of the bridge are souvenir shops. Souvenirs are cheaper here, so shop now.

The hanging bridge. Crossing this thing is a little tricky, but you’ll get the hang of it after a few steps. At the other end of the bridge are souvenir shops. Souvenirs are cheaper here, so shop now.

The Tarsier Conservation Area. Oh hello there little buddy! I hope y'all notice him. No flash upon taking pictures and no touching. Pffft.

The Tarsier Conservation Area. Oh hello there little buddy! I hope y’all notice him. No flash upon taking pictures and no touching. Pffft.

The Man-made Forest. This is one of my favorites. Aside from the beautiful sight of this forest, I love the rush of taking photos on the middle of the road. While being on the look out  of a car or a truck that might suddenly appear. Haha.

The Man-made Forest. This is one of my favorites. Aside from the beautiful sight of this forest, I love the rush of taking photos on the middle of the road, while being on the look out for a car (or a truck) that might suddenly appear. Haha.

The Chocolate Hills. Of course your trip to Bohol won't be complete without a visit to this place. Magnificent. Just magnificent.

The Chocolate Hills. Of course your trip to Bohol won’t be complete without a visit to this place. Magnificent. Just magnificent.

Bohol Bee Farm. A nice place to stay and dine. We first went there to dine, and after finding out that they have a promo rate for lean months, we moved there to spend our last night.

Bohol Bee Farm. A nice place to stay and dine. We first went there to dine, and after finding out that they have a promo rate (for room rates) for lean months, we moved there to spend our last night. Also try their farm tour to know more about organic farming, weaving and bee keeping.

A certain grilled fish by Bohol Bee Farm. I love how the sauce and the grilled fish compliments each other. I liked the salad too, however I'm not used to eating flowers. I know it's edible but I just feel weird eating it.

A certain grilled fish by Bohol Bee Farm. I love how the sauce and the grilled fish compliments each other. I liked the salad too, however I’m not used to eating flowers. I know it’s edible but I just feel weird eating it. Oh, and I need to mention this. I also love their tsokolate drink and their ice cream in cab-cab cone. My favorite flavor is Malunggay and tsokolate. Must try.

Island hopping and dolphin watching day! Sad I was not able to capture photos of dolphins since they are so fast and, well, far. Hard for me to snap a picture of them.

Island hopping and dolphin watching day! Sad I was not able to capture photos of dolphins since they are so fast and, well, far. Hard for me to snap a picture of them.

The Virgin Island aka The Sand Bar. Really wish we spent longer time here. Oh the tides.

The Virgin Island aka The Sand Bar. Really wish we spent longer time here. Oh the tides.

Eating sea urchins. Apparently they taste good. Such a good experience. A must try.

Eating sea urchins. Apparently they taste good. Such a good experience. A must try.

Eating some kind of slug. taste yummy as well. Get ready for a rubbery feel. Ha!

Eating some kind of slug. taste yummy as well. Get ready for a rubbery feel. Ha!

Tons of starfish. An overload of starfish greeted us on our way to the sand bar.

Tons of starfish. An overload of starfish greeted us on our way to the sand bar.

Chill. Enjoying the sun sand and sea. And the coconut (buko) juice.

Chill. Enjoying the sun sand and sea. And the coconut (buko) juice.

Bohol buddies!

Bohol buddies! The obligatory jump shot.

4 comments

Leave a Reply

